Carroll Report Sheriff's Office Westminster

Carroll County Sheriff’s Office Honors Outstanding Service with 2023 Awards Ceremony

Westminster, Carroll County, Maryland; March 28, 2024 – The Carroll County Sheriff’s Office gathered on Thursday, March 28th, 2024, to recognize and commend those individuals who displayed exceptional dedication and courage throughout the 2023 calendar year.

Among the notable recipients was Master Deputy Sherman, who received the Catherine’s Cause Impaired Driving Enforcement Award for his exceptional efforts in apprehending 15 impaired drivers on Carroll County roads. Catherine’s Cause, an organization dedicated to educating those convicted of DUI or DWI, commended Deputy Sherman for his commitment to keeping the community safe.

Members of the Crime Suppression Team were awarded a Unit Citation for their proactive measures in reducing crime in the Sykesville area, while the Digital Records Unit received a Unit Citation for their diligent work in implementing crucial technology. Special recognition was also given to Hugh McGovern for his instrumental role in the success of the Digital Records Unit.

Correctional Deputy III Arnott was honored with a Sheriff’s Recognition Award for his outstanding service in the Intelligence Unit, leading to the recovery of a weapon and the prevention of a potential assault. Correctional Deputy Buchman, Correctional Sergeant Clark, and Deputy First Class Maxwell Chassagne were also recognized for their valuable contributions to safety and security within Carroll County.

Master Deputy Turner received the Sheriff’s Star Award in appreciation of his unwavering dedication to public safety, while Master Deputy Helwig, Master Deputy Knorr, and DFC Remmers were recognized with Lifesaving Awards for their quick response and care that saved a pedestrian’s life.

Master Deputy Black, Master Deputy Craft, and DFC Bowers were also honored with a Lifesaving Award for their exceptional efforts in providing medical care to a patient in cardiac arrest. Furthermore, the Sheriff’s Office Medal of Valor was awarded to Master Deputy Nicholas Rhoads and Deputy First Class Tyler Sitarek for their courageous actions in confronting a suicidal individual armed with a shotgun.

Certificates of Appreciation were also presented to various individuals who played crucial roles in the aforementioned incident, including officers from the Westminster Police Department and staff from Emergency Communications Center (ECC).

In addition to individual accolades, the Sheriff’s Office also announced the recipients of the Civilian of the Year and Deputy of the Year awards. Mrs. Sue Hohman was honored as the 2023 Civilian of the Year, while Correctional Deputy III Arnott and Master Deputy Shawn Ullrich were recognized as the 2023 Correctional Deputy of the Year and Law Enforcement Deputy of the Year, respectively.

The ceremony served as a testament to the unwavering dedication and outstanding service exemplified by the honorees, reflecting the Carroll County Sheriff’s Office commitment to upholding the highest standards of public safety and community well-being.

For more information, please contact:
Office of the Sheriff’s Office for Carroll County

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.


Subscribe to the Informed Carroll newsletter and stay updated.